D. Gouramis and Danios?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Velvet AciD

Reaction score
I have a 10G with 3 pairs of various types of Danio. I've been thinking of getting a male Dwarf Gourami, would the Danios bother him too much? Or should I even try it at all?

I think it's usually recommended to keep Gouramis with peaceful fish. I don't know for sure, but, personally, owning both Danios and a Gourami (in separate tanks at the moment), I'd say that the lively Danios might bother the Gourami somewhat, especially in a 10 gallon tank. But, again, I'm not an expert on this :).

i've got a 20gal
and i have 4 zebra danios and 2 honey dwarf gouramis (not sure if they're actually called honey)
they seem to get along just fine.
they mind their own business, i find that the danios bother each other more than anything else!

pnKroK said:
i've got a 20gal
and i have 4 zebra danios and 2 honey dwarf gouramis (not sure if they're actually called honey)
they seem to get along just fine.
they mind their own business, i find that the danios bother each other more than anything else!
yeah i have a 20g and 3 zebra danios and 2 male dworf gouramies!

they seem to be fine together~! i also have 3 male guppys!

Danios grow to 2 inches or more, so your three pairs means at least 12 inches in a 10 gal. I'd be a bit worried about overcrowding. Might be alright if you have a lot of live plants though.

I also agree with Sinuhe, in thinking that the lively danios could bother the more calm gourami.

in a larger tank, like a 20 gal, it might work, but i wouldn't recommend it in your 10. d. gouramis can get stressed out by overly active fish (such as danios). you could try it, see if it works for you (d. gouramis seem to really vary in personality and reactions from fish to fish, so who know, you might just get lucky), but you may end up having to take the dg back.....................