What Plants Are These - Can I Pot Them In Nice Pots?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

simonas

stuck between a rock and a fish tank
Fish of the Month 🌟
Reaction score
I've got these two tree like plants in my front garden which get knocked by the kids and postman, they flower every year and look lovely. one has a whiteish mold growing on it, hardly any leaves but lotsof flowrs

can I pot these in nice pots like littl;e bonsai's and keeo them next to my pond or would they suffer in pots?

017-1.jpg

018-2.jpg

Close up of the leaves possible?

I'm no expert on plants, but my first instinct was Rhododendron, and very poor looking ones at that. Flowering by no means means the plants healthy, it could just be using up stored energy reserves and still going through it's regular cycles.

As I said, I'm not great at terrestrial plant ID's, but I could show my mum the pictures and she would most likely be able to ID it.

Are the leaves there the whole year? What is your soil like (pH, drainage etc)?.

Certainly some sort of deficiency there, and it looks like the ground is covered in weeds and mosses.

Moving them into a pot could kill them if you damage the root systems, as the plants already look poorly

Whatever it is, I would suggest moving all the weeds, grass and moss by hand (make sure you don't leave any dandelion roots, they are a bugger to get out , break easily and if you leave part of the root they will just grow back).