What Kind of Pleco is this?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Mikayla K

Reaction score
Hello, everyone I'm new on here. I'm just learning about proper care for my fish, however I am curious about one of my fish in particular. He's a Pleco, pretty sure the common type, however I know "common" is a general term, since there are so many types of plecos. He's about 2 years old and is almost a foot long. And, yes I do know the tank is too small. I do 25% water changes 3 times a week and also 50% water changes 4 times a week, to keep up with the bio load, and am getting a bigger tank tomorrow. 55 gallon arcylic, and I am aware this is also small, but is only temporary as I am saving up to buy a custom built 90 gallon acrylic tank. I am just curious if anyone knows the specific species of my pleco. Thank you! :)

Attachments

• 20181101_154540.jpg
    20181101_154540.jpg
    663 KB · Views: 237
Hi and welcome to the forum :)

can you post a picture showing the fish from the side so we can see the markings on its back?

It is either a Pterygoplichthys gibbiceps or a Hypostomus plecostomus.

re: water changes. I would do a 75% water change and gravel clean every couple of days. Bigger water changes dilute nutrients more effectively than small ones. :)

Thank you. And how often do you think should I do the 75% water changes; everyday or every couple of days? I just worry about removing too much of the good bacteria.

Attachments

• Screenshot_20181103-140355_Gallery.jpg
    Screenshot_20181103-140355_Gallery.jpg
    87.1 KB · Views: 213
Water changes will not remove the good bacteria - they grow in the biofilm which is tightly bound to surfaces in the tank. They do not live free in the water. Provided you don't forget to add dechlorinator to the new water, water changes won't harm the bacteria.