What kind of fish to start with?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

kelbel

Reaction score
I am completely new to this and I have just set up my first 10 gal freshwater tank. I have tested the water, and let the filter and the heater run for a few days. Everything seems ready to go! I am wondering if anyone has any suggestions on what kind, and how many fish to buy? I am considering maybe 6-8 cherry barbs, and a few corys. Any advice is much needed and much appriciated!

Thanks~Kelbel

To start with i would suggest placing just 2 very hardy fish such as zebra danios or a goldfish in the tank,as it takes a while for the bacteria in your filter to mature.This process is known as cycling and can take 6 weeks or more,first the fish will foul the water causing a build up of ammonia then bacteria in the filter will convert this to nitrite and then to safe nitrate which you remove with weekly water changes.If you add too many fish too early the build up of ammonia will be too much for your growing bacteria colony to cope with and the fish will die.
Your choice of fish is fine for the size tank you have once it has finished cycling :)

Do yourself a favour scrap your 10 gallon tank now and get yourself a much larger one aleast 30 gallon. I started with a small 10 gallon tank with in months it was full and there was still loads of fish that I wanted now I've got a 50 gallon and I'm in the process of building a 6'x2'x2' monster. I think I'm hooked :D

Aha - another sufferer of MTS (multiple tank syndrome) :)

I have just got a 160l as I couldn't get anything more in the 73l one .....

Unfortunately I think it's going to be the lot for my flat at the moment, unless I throw out the sofa, coffee table, etc :D

Eddie

You can cycle the tank initially without fish, I've done it many times without any probs.