The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

mayzie101

Reaction score
Hey all, I have a 8 gallon fluval tank with a breeding pair of fancy guppies (2 standard females, 1 cobra male) and a golden snail. I saved 6 fry (3 from each female's drop) in a mesh breeders box type thing in the tank and they have been growing beautifully! 
happy.png

I'm an out-of-state college student so I have to leave my precious fish for breaks occasionally (no more than a week at a time) and the first big break (longer than 3 days) is coming up with Thanksgiving. I already bought a slow release feeder to put in the tank and did a 50% water change a day or so ago to hopefully counteract any variation in the water that the release feeder might introduce.

If anyone has any tips for me, I'd really appreciate it!

If it is only a week. You need to do nothing. The fish can go without food for a week easily. What is your water temp? I would stop the heater and reduce it to room temp as long as this is not below 20°C.

As long as you have plants in the tank and mild growing algae they'll be fine. Fishes in the wild could go for 2 weeks without food. Just make sure you feed before you leave

im at uni, and my tanks at home. iv got very minimal stock and fast growing plants in it, none of my fish have died yer, that i know of... and the tank hasent had anything added or taken out for about 5 months now. granted there are shrimp in there for the small stock of fish to eat and other animals like daphina and other inverts in there for the fish to eat. i will be doing a water change when i get back ofc and give it a sort out 

Is that slow releasing feeder one of those clay type things? If so, I would take it out, most of them only add ammonia, with minimal food for the fish.