Unsure about fish

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Feathring

Reaction score
Hey all,

I'm currently a little unsure about my fish and if they look healthy. Looks a little on the swollen side, but I'm also new to fish ownership.

They're currently in an uncycled 1 gallon (currently cycling a 5.5 gallon to move her into after I originally got her out of a coke bottle). Ammonia is reading 0 after a water change (was ~0.25 pre change), nitrite and nitrate at 0. ~78 degrees with heater. There was a swim bladder issue at first where they were on the bottom most of the time, but that seems to be going away and they spend a lot of time near the surface now.

https://imgur.com/gallery/pIwVwhl

These were as clear of pictures as I could get over the last 2 days.

And I've taken that plastic plant in the pics out in favor of a silk plant.

The fish looks really skinny and the first picture it looks like the scales are sticking out a little on the left.
Can you see if the scales are sticking out sideways from the body?
If they are, the fish has an internal bacterial infection (dropsy) and could die.

If the fish is eating well then it's a good start. Monitor its poop and see what that looks like. If it's coloured (brown, black) then it's fine. If the poop is white and stringy, then it's a problem.

-------------------------
Feed the fish 3 times a day for the next month. Use dry, frozen but defrosted and live foods if you can get them.

Do a 75% water change and gravel clean the substrate every day for the next month. The extra food will help fatten the fish up and hopefully help it recover from any stress it has been through. The big daily water changes will keep ammonia levels down and reduce the number of disease organisms in the water.
Make sure any new water is free of chlorine/ chloramine before it's added to the tank.