Struggling to Cycle Tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Super Nova

Reaction score
Hello,
I am very new to the keeping fish hobby, I have done weeks of research however I surely did miss out on researching about how the tank cycle works. Truly I did not know what it was until my fish were acting weird. I have three mollys and one betta fish in a 25l tank, my ammonia is high. Iā€™m honestly surprised these fish are surviving. Iā€™ve had my tank for 5 weeks now, and it still isnā€™t cycled. I change 30% of the water every 3 days, I used to change it everyday but I was scared this might be too harsh for the fish. My betta has Fin rot, I treated the water with medicine for it and it seems to have slowed down.. I am very scared because the ammonia levels do not want to go down. I even changed 90% of the water, and it managed to creep back up. Please help me find a solution for this, I am new and I know I made some mistakes but please try to hold back the negative comments. I just want to help my little darlings ;(

You need to be changing the water any time you see any trace of either ammonia or nitrite. Leaving those toxins to build up is far more dangerous to the fish than the water changes, as long as the new water is warmed and dechlorinated.

I must tell you that your tank is far too small for the mollies. I'm afraid that, with such an overstocked tank, you will struggle to keep the ammonia down. Really a 25l tank is only suitable for a single betta, OR a few, very small fish, like Endlers or small tetras; not both.

For the molly's welfare, you should consider rehoming them, or getting a larger tank, ASAP.

Last edited:
You need to do 80% water change every day with dechlorinated water at temperature matching the tank for at least 8 weeks from the day you added fish before you start seeing the tank start to cycle.