Stocking Questions

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Agrigor

Reaction score
Hello!

I am new to the hobby and am trying to start off on the best foot possible. I currently have a fully cycled heavy planted 30 gallon aquarium. I own a betta fish and would like to create a community tank. I have researched what fish are usually compatible with a beta and am ready to slowly start stocking my tank.
The question I have is how many fish of varying species I can stock in my 30 gallon long tank to keep all the fish happy and healthy.

I would like to add:
6 endler’s livebearer
1 beta (currently own)
6 to 12 celestial pearl danios
6 Julii cory cats
2 dwarf frogs
ramshorn snails

Would that amount of fish be appropriate for my 30 gallon or would that be overstocked?

Thank you for your time!

Last edited:
Welcome to TFF, and this wonderful hobby.

I am afraid I have less than good news. Assuming the betta is a male, it is not a community fish. Yes, you will read differently, but that does not make it true. Sometimes the betta will not tolerate any fish in "his" space, sometimes he may for a time until you wake up one morning to one or more dead fish. In reverse, many small shoaling fish (rasboras, danios as well as tetras, barbs) seem to find great delight in nipping the fins of a betta, and this causes the poor fish considerable stress and inevitably a quicker death. You can keep the betta in this tank, maybe add some non-upper water column fish, though I would not subject them to this ordeal. Or re-house the betta and make more use of the space here.