Sparkling gourami in 5 gallon

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

wilcovxp

Reaction score
Hi everyone, I just got a 5 gallon nano cube. I really love sparkling gourami so I'm dying to get some. Is a five gallon okay if its planted / has a lot of hiding spots? (looking for a pair/trio). I'm not a beginner since I'm keeping fish for over a year now, I know how to keep stable water parameters. Online it says that sparkling gourami require a 10 gallon or bigger but I'm also finding people with sparkling gourami in 5 gallon tanks without a problem. Is it worth the risk or will these fish definitely be unhappy in this tank?

A pair would be fine, provided its species only and densely planted :)

Happy day...agreed, and you can visit Youtube and search out Foo the Flowerhorn to see his wonderful videos about his 5g and the gourami.

Happy day EYP...yeah, good old Loomster. He released a new video yesterday. That dude inspired two tanks of mine and I am pondering converting another to Walstad.

Attachments

• 1607107559529.jpg
    1607107559529.jpg
    32.5 KB · Views: 106
And a good day to you, my Lord!

Your RRFs are very happy and healthy looking, as well as the rest of the gorgeous tank.

His were the first videos I started watching about aquascaping, and began with Walstad but then I could not sustain the bioload without filters. That said, I still follow The Ecology of The Planted Aquarium and is one of my favorite bedtime stories, sitting next to Pablo Neruda and Umberto Eco.

My tanks are all heavily planted and I am now experimenting with an Epiphytes-only tank. We'll see how that goes. It is the largest tank I have at 12.7 gal. and where Ojitos currently lives with Archibald Spooner and friends.

Please keep me updated on your tank adventures!