Siphon / Syphon Pump

sparkypenguin

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jan 2, 2022
Messages
101
Reaction score
40
Location
County Durham
Hi all,

Looking for a little advice as to whether this pump would be OK to use in my freshwater tropical set up?
I know it will do the trick but I'm a little concerned about any chemical pollution of my tank water.

Mark
 

Oblio

Fish Herder
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Messages
1,296
Reaction score
1,139
Location
Macon GA, USA
It doesn't have a gravel cleaner and is very short.

Get a Python, you won't regret it.
Or make your own with food grade tubing. Make a gravel cleaner from a drink bottle and attach to the hose.
 
OP
OP
S

sparkypenguin

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jan 2, 2022
Messages
101
Reaction score
40
Location
County Durham
Thanks but I have a gravel cleaner, it's just the siphon part I am after to replace using my mouth.
I do daily water changes and I need something to start the siphon process.
Also sometimes my external filter needs priming.
 

CaptainBarnicles

Resident Pleco Hater
Pet of the Month!
Joined
Apr 2, 2021
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
1,818
Location
Lincs
I found a normal gravel vac with a hand pump attached that starts the siphon...I just connect it to my hose
 

CaptainBarnicles

Resident Pleco Hater
Pet of the Month!
Joined
Apr 2, 2021
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
1,818
Location
Lincs
OP
OP
S

sparkypenguin

Fish Fanatic
Joined
Jan 2, 2022
Messages
101
Reaction score
40
Location
County Durham
Thanks.
Is that one where you have to shake the hose up and down to fill it with water or just squeeze the bulb?
I ask as the ebay add states it needs to be shaken but I think not.
 

Oblio

Fish Herder
Joined
Dec 6, 2021
Messages
1,296
Reaction score
1,139
Location
Macon GA, USA
You can start without suction. Just fill the tube with water, hold outflow end closed, other end in tank, lower outflow end below tank, uncover outflow end.
 

CaptainBarnicles

Resident Pleco Hater
Pet of the Month!
Joined
Apr 2, 2021
Messages
1,664
Reaction score
1,818
Location
Lincs
Thanks.
Is that one where you have to shake the hose up and down to fill it with water or just squeeze the bulb?
I ask as the ebay add states it needs to be shaken but I think not.
You just use the hand pump...few squeezes and it starts up, no shaking required
 

Most reactions

Top