Sick Dwarf Gourami

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
šŸ¶ POTM Poll is Open! šŸ¦Ž Click here to Vote! šŸ°

Faith_16

Reaction score
Hi, all. I am relatively new to fish keeping. Iā€™ve had my powder blue dwarf gourami in a 10-gallon tank with three glo-fish tetras for about a year now with no real issues. Until now.

I noticed about a week ago that he was bloated, but I didnā€™t worry about it because he always bloats whenever stressed, (Usually the day after a 25% water change). I noticed yesterday that his scales are flayed outwards and he is missing some scales in one spot in particular. He still eats, just seems lethargic.

To provide context to tank care, I perform 25% water changes weekly. I have proper heating and filtration, use monthly Ph balancer, and check the ammonia levels weekly. Todayā€™s reading, following a 25% water change yesterday, is in the safe range.
Any advice on what might be causing this issue is appreciated. I will admit I donā€™t know a ton about aquarium care, just what Iā€™ve read online.

Attachments

• 10115BC1-504D-4580-8857-E7E957C6682A.jpeg
    10115BC1-504D-4580-8857-E7E957C6682A.jpeg
    153.5 KB · Views: 27
Last edited:
hmm, i do not think that is usual... i dont know much about these labrynth fish though. he is probably haveing dropsy. pictures will help. do not use melafix if it is dropsy, i heard it can harm labryinth fish

If it is bloating up soon after a water change it does strike me that the W/C is the issue, probably from the ā€œPH balancerā€ product. What does the PH balancer do to your water?

It may be worth checking the pH before and after using the pH balancer as large pH swings are a source of stress.

If it is bloating up soon after a water change it does strike me that the W/C is the issue, probably from the ā€œPH balancerā€ product. What does the PH balancer do to your water?

It may be worth checking the pH before and after using the pH balancer as large pH swings are a source of stress.