Samb's 5G Fluval Chi Reef

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Would love any tips from experienced saltwater keepers etc. I am very very new at this and stumbling my way through.

There is the "biggest saltwater store in Alabama" an hours drive away that I am hoping to check out this Saturday.. exciting news indeed..

A bit of a frustrating day.. my rocks are getting Dust Algae I believe, so I'm lowering the light cycle by a couple hours. 
20140123_183301.jpg

^^ lovely green stuff. I actually dont mind the amount there now, but don't want more of it.

And.. unfortunately I think I've had a casualty in the Clean up Crew.

Late last night I found Astrid upside down. I flipped him with my net and left him on the sand bed. When I came back from classes today he was in the same spot.. so I am presuming dead..
rip.gif
Petco doesn't take salt water animals back so I have the shell in a cup with some salt water (just in case I'm wrong? not sure if snails ever stay stationary for 18 hours). Since I have the shell I figure I might as well put it back in the tank, but not sure if I need to clean out any "organic matter" and not sure how to do so.. any advice appreciated. I've also realized I am pretty much stuck with this peppermint shrimp whether I like it or not (don't know anyone close with a salt water tank..), though he might be making the journey with me to the nearest saltwater store in a few weeks.

Here's poor Astrid:

20140123_183525.jpg

Any thoughts on why he might have died? I haven't seen any hitchhikers but I'm wondering if I have a crab. I'm not currently feeding this tank anything, though I might have to start feeding the shrimp something or other if I want him to survive..

I also noticed these white moving dots on my glass, kind of hard to take a picture of, here's my best shot:

20140123_190457.jpg

And here's my best try at a video..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e2nuX446y3s