Rosy Cloud Rocks...Thoughts?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

brokenoob!

Reaction score
Hey all! I'm setting up a 10g nano tank right now and found these beauuuutiful looking rocks called "Rosy Cloud Rocks" from Petco, brought them home, rinsed them well in hot water and just plopped them in my tank.

I'm really new to this hobby so I didn't even know that rocks can change pH and hardness--and my source water is already wicked hard so I'm wondering: does anyone know if rosy cloud rocks raise pH? If so, should I just take the rocks out and do a big water change or do I have to essentially break down the whole tank?

I think it's also worth mentioning that after I treat this piece of mopani wood I have, that's going in the tank as well so perhaps it would balance out a raised pH from the rocks? I've attached both a product photo and a pic of the rocks in my tank to give you a better idea. Let me know if I can provide any more info to make answering this easier!

rosycloudrocks.pngtankviewfull.JPGrockview1.JPGrockview2.JPG

The rocks are unlikely to affect the pH but you can check this by removing the rock, drying it and pouring some white vinegar on the rock. If it fizzles and foams up, the rock is calcium based and will raise the pH. If the vinegar does not foam up on the rock, it will not affect the pH.

How are you treating the driftwood?
Normally you rinse the wood and soak it in a bucket of tap water until it sinks, then rinse the wood again and put it in the tank.

The rocks are unlikely to affect the pH but you can check this by removing the rock, drying it and pouring some white vinegar on the rock. If it fizzles and foams up, the rock is calcium based and will raise the pH. If the vinegar does not foam up on the rock, it will not affect the pH.

How are you treating the driftwood?