Rescue Case - George

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Bloo

~ I learn something new ~ ~~~~ every day ~~~~
Reaction score
OK, for those dog lovers amongst us, I thought I'd share this with you:
I used to be a veterinary nurse and worked at a very large 24 hour practice in London. We always received some stray animals on a regular basis - those of whom we could trace the owners, we reunited. Those we could not, we sent on Battersea Dogs home or the RSPCA.
One morning when I came into work, and there in the bottom cage sat the ugliest little dog I have *ever* seen in my entire life. Cowering and shaking and in an incredibly bad state. This sounds so awful to say, but he was so repulsive that I couldn't even pick him up for the vet to examine without holding my breath (because of his stench!) and holding him at arms length. Anyway, no owner could be found and the vets wanted him out as soon as possible because he had no injuries and was riddled with fleas and had a horrendous skin allergy. In most places his skin was so bad it felt like elphant skin :crazy: Looking at his skin, it literally moved in a mass of fleas and it was so extreme that he did not even bother to scratch anymore. Poor chap.
Anyway, we knew very well that Battersea Dogs home would put him straight to sleep, as he was an un-neutered male approx 8 years old and in a very bad state. They just do not have the time an capacity to spend on animals like that when they have hundreds of other "cute" puppies and younger dogs in good condition to re-home. At the time I honestly did not want a dog as I already had 2 young cats and a very demanding job with long hours. And *if* I had a dog, it would certainly only be a big dog (I'm not a small dog person).
Well, well well...... a friend of mine severely twisted my arm and talked me into giving him a chance, as the vets wanted to put him to sleep.

Soooo.... here are some pictures of him.