Red spotted severum

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Lee harrison

Reaction score
Hi all I'm new to site and forums in general, I have a male red spotted severum with lumps on its pectoral fins and spots on the tail fin. I have multiple South American fish in the tank also with no other signs off this that I can tell at the moment. My water parameters are fine my tank has been established for over 3 years no new fish have been added. Not sure if its a parasite or ich as I though the lumps looked too big but I'm no expert and need some help.

Attachments

• IMG_20190713_151938.jpg
    IMG_20190713_151938.jpg
    63.7 KB · Views: 188
  • IMG_20190713_151943.jpg
    IMG_20190713_151943.jpg
    59.9 KB · Views: 144
Hello, and welcome to the forum! :hi:

What color are the spots?

How big isn’t the tank he is in?

Does he have any other tank mates?

You said your water parameters where in check, ich or “ick” is caused because of.....

Serum and mucus from those immune fish contain antibodies against the parasite. ... The antibodies also cause the parasites to leave the fish so that ich cannot become established in immune fish.

(That is how to prevent it

How it starts is....

The life cycle of Ichthyophthirius is complicated but very important in understanding the treatment and prevention of ich. Once the ich protozoan attaches to the side of the fish, it begins feeding on the skin and tissue causing irritation. The fish's body begins to wall off the parasite to try to limit its damage. :)

If it is ich, they would start on the fins, and head, then move to the center of the body.

Will you please include a picture? :)

(Please consider voting for the July TOTM contest, by clicking the banner at the top of your screen, Thanks!) :thanks: