Red Eared Slider

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

christine

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I was thinking of getting one of these guys. I ve done a bit of research... but a few things I didnt find out...how much room do they need out of water...and how much in water? And how deep should the water be...Also , in order to supplement their diet, what types of fruits etc would they eat, and how much?

Thanx a bunch :hyper:

Well, i am no expert on sliders but I have a friend who loves to keep them, and they are happy and healthy. I have only had a tortoise and babysat some sliders, but what I have seen him do is this.

He keeps about 5 or 6 of them in what is probably a 55 gallon tank (could be bigger). He filled it halfway up with water and has about 5 or six logs/rocks that stick out of the water about the size of a slider. So out of water they really only need a place big enough for them to bask and get some warmth. I am assuming you have a warming lamp for them...? It is a good idea to put one in an area where the turtles can bask. The water in his setup is about a foot and a half deep, and has plenty of swimming room. I don't know too much about the diet, but I have fed them worms in addition to the turtle food he had. I think they eat some leafy greens, squash etc. Anyways hope that helped, and have fun with the turtles!!

Oh, here is a pretty good link to a turtle care site:

http://www.anapsid.org/reslider.html

I would DEFINATELY not put 4-5 in a 55 gallon tank. If they're young he should be fine for a little while but they will very soon outgrow that tank, not to mention I can only imagine how hard it must be to keep it filtered well... Nothing against you or your friend Chuka it's just that sliders get to be close to 12'' across.