Quit if they won't do it right...

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

OnlyGenusCaps

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
I thought because this generally fits the ethic espoused here, folks might enjoy this. I saw this post from a Reddit thread about quitting a job on the first day and thought I would share it here:

"I'm a fish hobbyist, and I got a job in the fish department at a well-known pet store. On my first day, they wanted me to take out all the substrate rocks from each tank, scrub them, and put them back in the tanks — one tank at a time. Moving substrate releases bad bacteria and can get the fish sick or kill them. I explained this to them and said that it was best to just do a water change for 20% of each tank. They said it is what corporate says and I had to do it. I was like, 'Okay, I'll do it after lunch.' I never came back from lunch."

I recognize the details aren't spot on, but the ethos is there it seems. Anyhow, thought it might be good for a chuckle here.

People unclear on the concepts. Retail tanks are designed to empty within 2 weeks, and to showcase objects for sale. They aren't long term habitats for fish the way our tanks are. Heavy water changing tries to compensate for overcrowding if they are well run, but as tanks, they are rough places. They exist to sell.

If the fish sell slowly, they die. If the fish sit there for a long time, the store dies.

Moving substrate causes no problems if the tank has been well cared for. I wouldn't scrub decor, unless I sold it. I would have fired Mr Reddit, as a failed know it all, probably in their first 2 weeks. Well, I doubr they would have gotten through the job interview. That's taking a stand on principle when your principles have no basis in common sense.