Questions from yet another newbie trying to cycle a tank

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

joelfernandes

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hello everyone.

I'm new to the hobby and have been struggling to be in a good place. It's been quite a rollercoaster.

My tank is almost two months old and I'm still not seeing the cycle going. I don't have nitrites nor nitrates in the water, yet, ammonia keeps showing up. I change the water (from 25% to 50% sometimes) from 2 to 3 times a week now. When changing water I do use a conditioner (recently switched to Prime) and only recently started adding Seachem Stability (their "bacteria in a bottle" product). It's been only a week since I started using those products, so hopefully, it'll make a difference.

As I said, I'm new to the hobby and have quite a few questions:
  1. As part of every water change (around 2 times a week), I vacuum the substrate. Am I delaying the bacteria growth by doing this?
  2. Sometimes I get some algae in the glass and I've been cleaning it. Should I stop this until I get the cycle going?
  3. The first couple of weeks I only fed the fish every other day but eventually started doing it every day. I was advised to get to the every other day cadence again to avoid ammonia spikes. Although, my fish kinda look hungry ... I know, I know, that's probably every newbie's saying, but, every time I enter the room they all rush to the front of the aquarium expecting food. Should I keep the feeding every other day? Am I feeding too little?