Question About Changing Water!?

🐠 The poll is open for the February TOTM! 🐠
FishForums.net Tank of the Month!
🏆 Click here to Vote! 🏆

fishlover1234

New Member
Joined
May 31, 2012
Messages
18
Reaction score
0
when you change 10-15% of water for your tank, do you add water conditioner into the new water that you want to pour in . OR After you pour new water into the tank first, then add water conditioner into the tank!??
 

Cazgar

Fish Gatherer
Joined
Oct 10, 2011
Messages
2,212
Reaction score
0
I'm thrifty, so I add the dechlor into the new water before adding it to the tank
 

sadguppy

Fish Herder
Joined
Feb 3, 2012
Messages
1,055
Reaction score
0
Location
GB
I add mine to the water I put in, but if you add enough dechlorinator to treat the whole tank after you add water but before you turn the filter on I can't imagine it's going to do anything bad.
 

Ruskull

Bitter & Clinging...
Joined
Oct 22, 2011
Messages
2,158
Reaction score
0
Location
US
I use a 5 gallon bucket to refill so I just add the proper amount to the bucket as it's filling. I use aquasafe and it has the measuring thing indented in the top of the cap. Half is for 10 gallons so I usually do about a quarter of the top for each bucket. Too much is better than not enough I always say......
 

Dazzler666

Fish Crazy
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
389
Reaction score
0
Location
North East
I always add dechlor to the bucket also ... Works out much cheaper!!! I wouldnt worry about over-dosing with dechlor either as some people double dose to counter water additions by ttheir local water board so you would seriously have to OD on dechlor before it becomes harmful to your fish, thats what i was told on here from experienced fishies!!!
 

mattyeatsmatts

Fishaholic
Joined
Feb 21, 2012
Messages
651
Reaction score
0
Location
Wales, UK
If I hold water for top ups from evaporation I just leave some sit in a container overnight. Chlorine evaporates itself over time.
 

Staxx

Fishaholic
Joined
May 25, 2012
Messages
555
Reaction score
0
normally i just dose whole tank and fill it with a hose. with the filter off of course (cuz im cautious like that :blush: )

does it make a different if filter is on or off though? ive left it on by mistake a couple of times by accident though
 

Dazzler666

Fish Crazy
Joined
Apr 23, 2012
Messages
389
Reaction score
0
Location
North East
Iveeft my filter running when emptying mine & got water everywhere!!! Hence, filter off for me!! Lol.
 

brianhart

New Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2012
Messages
5
Reaction score
0
you should do it before! it may not make that large of a difference but you may forget sometimes too! i use a 5 gallon bucket and marked out each gallon so i know haw much to take out/put back in. i think it works very well plus you know how much contiditioner to put in (ex put 3 gallons in, add 15 drops in the bucket). it will be accurate plus it saves money.

make sure though you buy a bucket from home depot or lowes only. you need a food safe bucket with no chemicals, and then do a 10% bleach solution and let it soak for a while. then rince it out with hot water for a while until the bleach smell is gone. have fun :good:
 

Mauigirl

Fish Crazy
Joined
Jun 9, 2012
Messages
250
Reaction score
1
I add mine to the water I put in, but if you add enough dechlorinator to treat the whole tank after you add water but before you turn the filter on I can't imagine it's going to do anything bad.
I would say, from a noobish stand point this is good.

I add to the buckets + .1ml each ( if a cap treats 50 gal and is 5ml then .1ml per gallon that would be .5ml per 5 gallon bucket, I add .6 to accommodate any error of air in syringe etc)

I perssonaly would never add water straight from the hose for fear of damaging my bacteria or fish but I see the logic, if you do, to add a full tank worth of treatment prior to sticking the hose in... (this creates the additional temperature stress and is another question altogether but just as important)

pre treated water will be ready/safe b4 it ever reaches the tank, post treated carries a risk, however small it may be.
 

Mauigirl

Fish Crazy
Joined
Jun 9, 2012
Messages
250
Reaction score
1
If I hold water for top ups from evaporation I just leave some sit in a container overnight. Chlorine evaporates itself over time.
This wont work if an individuals water companies uses chloramine and would be better to err on the side of caution unless the aditives can be truly identified.
Use good quality conditioner!!!!
 

Tolak

Gun Toting Lunatic
Joined
Sep 30, 2003
Messages
15,059
Reaction score
4
Location
Chicago
You'd be surprised at the number of folks who don't use water conditioner with tap water, a bit of the science behind it can be found here.
 

Mauigirl

Fish Crazy
Joined
Jun 9, 2012
Messages
250
Reaction score
1
You'd be surprised at the number of folks who don't use water conditioner with tap water, a bit of the science behind it can be found here.
Not to be , well extremely confrontational with a MOD but...
Can you direct the way forward in detail to the situation of each water supplied or should an individual be required to understand what is in the water from the particular tap without any in depth research?
This is viable in extremely specific circumstantial conditions and in no way recommended to the average keeper.
USE conditioner unless you fully understand your particular parameters and are willing to risk the health of your tank.
 

Most reactions

Top