Protein Skimmer Air Pump Question

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰
Status
Not open for further replies.

bumper55

Reaction score
So I got my protein skimmer today... turns out it is an Oceanic Biocube Skimmer.  Wasn't labeled as that though, but it was like 30 bucks so I took it.  Sadly no returns, and I'm not interested in buying another one.  I checked the air pump and it said CAP 21 gph, so basically I'm gonna get nothing probably.  However, I have a Tetra Whisper 20 Air Pump that is 95 gph according to my calculations(or the internets calculations).  Would it be better if I switched the two?  I'm still new to Skimmers, so I don't know if gph matters, but usually the higher it is, the better off you are. 

Note: I don't have a Biocube

It is possible to have too much air pumped through air-driven skimmers, as can foam out the top. I have one of these and the pump mine came with works fine, but I don't recall the specs. 

Anyway, you won't get much impact on nutrient levels with this type of skimmer unless it's on a really tiny tank. I have found mine useful as a backup for dye removal with sea hares and to get rid of debris and other fine gunk from the water column due to digging animals that would pass right through filter floss.