Pregnant??

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

PanthyWanthy

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi all.. How can I tell If my Black Mollie is pregnant or not? She looks quite plump and Is acting really strange. For example she is laying on the bottom of the tank quite alot lately and hides In the plants. As I'm new to tropical fish keeping I still dont know lots about it. I have read on here about the gravid spots on Guppies but with my Black mollie you cant see anything..
Has anyone got a picture of a pregnant Black Mollie so I can see if It's the same or give me some advise..
Thanks.. I know I ask alot of questions and you probably think I'm a pain, but I'm learning :p

Cheers Sue :)

Hiya PW. I think you should find that she'll look like a mini ballon! She'll look like she's going to burst then bam you'll have some fry. With mollies it is generaly harder to predict the exact date but since the fry are bigger with any luck quite a few will survive even if you don't notice them in the tank for the first few hours :)

Hi, I am new to this, and I have a sailfin that I bought about 2 weeks ago, when I got her she looked like she was about to bust and she still is huge. She is a darker color so you can't see the gravid spot. Please help me.

Thanx :/
Ali

:eek: My female dropped her fry in the middle of the night so I'm not sure where she was in the tank..I have heard they tend to stay towards the bottom and in the plants when they are ready to birth.
We were able to save 10 of the fry..I was so excited!! :lol:
They are doing really well.

P.S. Try telling if a balloon belly molly is pregnant or not :blink: They already look like they are ready to burst..

Congralations - a true molly momma now ;) Keep an eye out - there could be more which she will drop over the next couple of days :nod:

Hi Rylka if you molly is still huge after two weeks this means one of two things;