Plecos Suitable for a 125l?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Derigriff

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
I've been researching different Plecos for quite some time now, looking for a striking yet suitable one to include in a 125l community setup. I had originally envisioned the Starlight Pleco L183, but acquiring one has been more challenging than i'd thought :p Does anyone have any recommendations for alternative Pleco that would suit this tank size? I'd looked at the blue phantom Pleco L128 recently, but I think they grow to 7"(!) and I'm no expert but that seems a little big for the tank. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

What are the dimensions of the tank, specifically the bottom of the tank?

Oh of course! My apologies. The dimensions are 80x35x50cm (LxWxH)

It's just that our tank dimensions in the UK are different from the US for the same volume :)

I understand :) I can't believe i forgot a crucial detail :p Thanks for the reminder. Out of curiosity, do you know what the typical US dimensions would be for the same/similar volume?

It's 33 US gallons, so it would probably be a 33 long. If it was a standard it would probably be like
48 x 12 x 12 (inches)

Tanks in the UK tend to be taller and narrower than those in the US, but there's no set size for any given volume.
80 x 35 cm is 31.5 x 14 inches, so definitely less floor space than US tanks of the same volume.

I don't know much about plecs as I've never had any so I'll leave that for someone else :)

Thank you both for the information on US tank size, it's been very helpful. Most recommendations I've seen online are based on tank volume, and are usually American. So it's good to have a better idea of the footprint they expect to go along with the volume suggested.

Bristlenose Pleco or Albino Bristlenose Pleco. Grows to about 5". Will be out and about a lot.