Please help identify these plecos.

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Cassiopeia

Reaction score
I was given 2 pleco. All they knew about them was that they are plecos. I am new to owning fish but already love them and want them to be happy. Doing my own research I see that they can get quite big so I'm planning to get a much bigger tank. I do not have experience with fish but am doing a lot of research to give goku and vegeta a happy life. Any advice is appreciated. How big of a tank do I need for them? I think they may be 2 different breeds, they look quite different. One is thinner/sleeker and has really striking spots, especially on the underbelly as seen in pics(Goku). The other is wider and has kinda bulgy eyes compared the the sleeker one (Vegeta). Sorry for the bad phone camera pics. Tried to get a good fin shot of each.

Attachments

• Screenshot_2018-03-12-02-34-27.png
    Screenshot_2018-03-12-02-34-27.png
    1.5 MB · Views: 233
    1.5 MB · Views: 239
  • Screenshot_2018-03-12-02-36-30.png
    Screenshot_2018-03-12-02-36-30.png
    432.4 KB · Views: 220
  • Screenshot_2018-03-12-02-37-40.png
    Screenshot_2018-03-12-02-37-40.png
    541.7 KB · Views: 211
  • Screenshot_2018-03-12-02-38-45.png
    Screenshot_2018-03-12-02-38-45.png
    439.3 KB · Views: 203
Last edited by a moderator:
Hi welcome to the forum :)

They both look like 'common' plecs which is a name that covers a few species. As you said they grow very large, and could end up between 1 and 2 foot long. In a suitably sized tank they will grow very quickly, both easily getting to 10 inches within a year no mater what sized tank they are in.

What sized tank do you have them in now? And how big is the tank you are planning to get for them? You would want something like a 6x2x2 as a minimum which is around 180 gallons. This really is a minimum as well, if you can accommodate bigger, especially on the width measurement that would be great.