Please help! Diarrhea? Brown algae?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Emily Grace

Reaction score
Hello! I would appreciate any Insight anyone can provide on this, as I canā€™t seem to find an answer anywhere. I am including a ton of info, because I have no idea whatā€™s relevant.

About two months back I started noticing this brown stuff accumulating in my fish, Crescentā€™s tank. This is my first time having a betta so my immediate assumption was that it was really liquid poop of some sort. I figured that was just what his poop looked like, since I never saw more solid normal fish poops in there either. Eventually I got really worried and brought the top two pictures (taken when he was in a smaller, 2.5 gal aquarium) to my local pet co as well as some water to have them test my water. The woman there told me the water was fine & that actual fish diarrhea would make the water murky, which itā€™s always been really clear. She told me I was feeding too much (about 6-8 pellets a day) and told me to feed him half as much every other day, and to add in other higher protein foods like dried blood worms and shrimp, and to stop with pellets for a while. She said he was probably stressed because I had him on a slightly rocky surface and was metabolizing too much food too quickly, so I moved him to a better spot and followed her recommendations.