Perfect water, planted aquarium, flashing

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
šŸ† Click to vote! šŸ†

Planted-Peteā„¢

Reaction score
Hello, I am new here, I have a 36 gallon heavily planted, well established aquarium with a COMPLETE nitrogen cycle. 0 ammonia, 0 nitrite & 0 nitrate at all times. I've accomplished this by oversizing my filter and using biohome ultra media to establish anaerobic bacteria as well as using an extremely thick (approx 4") substrate. Temp around 71-72 at all times, dkh 3, pH 5.9 everything very stable. It seems everyone flashes from time to time. There's no signs of ich, or any other disease.Everyone seems super healthy and happy. I feed them a varied diet of high quality foods. I'm concerned about flukes or ich, but I've observed this behavior for months, with no progression. I see it every day, They are all so healthy and vibrant, I'd think if they had parasites they'd exhibit some other type of symptoms. I'm no expert by any means, this is my first serious aquarium, so any feedback would be appreciated. Anybody got any idea how I can prevent or reduce all these "aerial" (aquatic?) roots? It's super overgrown and needs a trim, I know!

12 harlequin rasbora
14 forktailed rainbow fish (I know they're supposed to like alkaline)
12 neon tetra
1 celestial pearl danio
5 otocinclus
6 panda cory
60+ assorted shrimp (ammano, neo, ghost)
6 adult guppies + 18 assorted babies amongst the floater or hunting infusoria in the mosses.
20 assassin snails and God knows how many babies hiding in the substrate
2021-01-31 12.23.24.jpg

Last edited:
Thereā€™s really no way to prevent the roots from sprouting out like that. I would just trim all the roots off if they are annoying you.

Any chance of a picture and short 60 second video of the fish rubbing?