Overstocking

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Elisabeth

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
Hi everyone
I know the inch to the gallon rule but I'm not too good at working out if (or more likely by how much) I've overstocked the tank. Its a triton 190. (about 50 US gallons).

4 red platys
4 golden barbs
5 emporer tetras
2 peral gouramis
2 kribs
2 hatchet fish
2 african butterfly fish
5 glass catfish
1 common plec
1 zebra plec
1 elephant nose
1 siamese fighter

I know the common plec will need a bigger tank eventually, at the moment he's about 5".
Am I ridiculously overstocked?

Hi Elisabeth,

Don't fret I think alot of other's have the same problem.

You are right on the plec. In order to keep that many fish in the tank you will need to really keep up on cleaning & water changes. I wish I could give you more help but I'm pretty new at this and would not want to give wrong info..Just wanted to let ya know someone will come along to help :thumbs:

That is a lot of fish for a 50 gal, but if you have good filtration, and keep it clean you should be Ok...what we have started to do is add underwater power filters (Hagen 802 for the 90 gal) to help keep the water clear. It gives us the extra filtration we need and creates a powerful current in the tank that some of the fish love to play in. :nod: :D

I do a 30% water change every week. So far I've had no problems (fingers crossed) I've been thinking of adding an undergravel filter but I wasn't sure if I really needed to. And I don't know much about them. Are they suitable for Juwel tanks?

Boy, I wish I had a fish-inch calculator! (I wish there was such a thing :lol: )

4 red platys x 1.5 = 6"
4 golden barbs x 4 = 16"
5 emporer tetras x 2.5 = 12.5"
2 peral gouramis x 4.5 = 9"
2 kribs (breeding pair?) 4" male + 3" female =7"
2 hatchet fish (variety?) x 1 - 2" = 2" - 4"
2 african butterfly fish x 4 = 8"
5 glass catfish x 4 = 20"
1 common plec = 12"
1 zebra plec = 3"