Otocinclus catfish compatibility?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Quin

Fishaholic
Reaction score
I have a plan for a project tank that includes starting out with 10-15 cherry shrimp, 4/5 endlers, and a single nerite snail in a 10g aquarium. My tap water's pH is 7.5-8.0 (though I'm considering natural and consistent remedies to high pH for this tank, if they exist) my kh is 240+ and my gh is 30-60. All of these measurements are reliable both from the tap and in my current betta tank.

I'm wondering what the compatibility for about 4 otocinclus are in my tank? I've read many articles and watched videos on their care, and all agree that they're peaceful but many say that they can die easily (I believe it's because of their issues with starvation, but there may be more). I'm not interested in purchasing fish slated for death, especially since this will only be my second tank so I'm a beginner, but I really like them.

I'm also worried about having two algae eaters in the tank, though I believe otos prefer scouring plants and a snail would only scour surfaces that can support their weight.

I am very interested in keeping this tank understocked, but I'm having a hard time visualizing how many fish are too many in a 10g. If the addition of 4+ oto cats are too much I will scrap the idea

I personally wouldn't do otocinclus in a 10. IMO, they need at least a 20-gallon aquarium or higher.

Is the GH 30 to 60 ppm? If it is, that is soft water and I wouldn't keep endlers either as they need hard water. But if you use an additive such as Rift Lake salts to 'harden' the water, they would be OK. However, this should not be done without careful thought. You would have to add exactly the right amount of the salts at each water change to keep the GH stable.

I personally wouldn't do otocinclus in a 10. IMO, they need at least a 20-gallon aquarium or higher.