Opinions of my systems...

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

lljdma06

Retired moderator :)
Retired Moderator ⚒️
Reaction score
This is a loaded post and I understand if I don't get responses right away. I have no emergencies and my plants are doing extremely well. But, I'd thought I'd ask a few questions. First, when I browse PetSmart.com, I keep looking at this CO2 thingamagig for $29.99. It's the Hagen Plant Grow Natural System with CO2. I've never used CO2 before, and I'm wondering if it's absolutely necessary for what I'm growing. I know it is highly recommended here, but I could still use some advice, as my budget doesn't stretch as far as I'd like it too. :) I've read the pinned topics on CO2 and I'm intrigued and understand its principles. I've also read the substrate threads and when I move home, I will definitely use either florite or laterite (sp) for future planted setups, as I would like to grow more demanding species in future setups.

Second, I have provided detailed tank specs for both my systems, and pictures of each system so you can see how things have progressed in the short time I've had these planted setups.

10g: 3WPG, regular gravel substrate (small gravel), 12 hours of light with a 2 hour siesta in the middle. Growing ambulia, cryptocryne wendtii, micro sword, wisteria, and a ludwiga. I fertilize once a week with Leaf Zone. Probably not best, but it's what I can afford. Just pruned the 10th. Living in this tank are 3 CT bettas divided, of course. The temperature is about 83 degrees. I know a little warm but it's very hot in IL during the Summer. That might actually help my CO2 levels, though. Ammo 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 0, pH 7.4, gH 8, kH 4. Running for 3 weeks

Here are two pics, one of the initial set-up:

10_gallon_betta_setup.jpg

And one of the setup as it looks now, I have added new plants and removed some, and did a pruning session. That was fun!

10g_update_new_plant_growth.jpg