Oil Cooled Pc, Re Use A Old Fish Tank

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Wow it looks like cracy... What was the cost of building it?

An old pc a fish tank and a bunch of mineral oil.

Prob about 100 to 200 dollars plus PC.

I have seen similar set ups a couple of years back and looks real cool.

Also saw some set ups that included water cooled pipes and other trickerys, don't ask me how but a couple of members on here at the time set that up on their PC's and it was pretty amazing at the time.

Certainly way beyond my PC skills and budget anyhow but as a electronic engineer myself its kinda fascinating :lol:

The idea behind these setups is that the heat from the PD transfers heat to the oil and then travels through the wall of the aquarium and then heats the water. One word of caution. for a small aquarium not much heat is needed to maintain a stable 78 degrees. On my 5 gallon I monitored the power consumption of my heater in the past and found it only needed about 7 watt hours a day. The laptop I am typing on right now is consuming 20watts per hour. That is a factor of 3 higher in one hour of what my aquarium uses in one day.

I have seen this type of setup a number of times on the web but I have never seen the temperature of the water.

There is no water its all mineral oil.

In the video you linked to it is all oil and no fish. Others separate the tank into two compartments one with computer and oil and the other water and fish.

Many people in a fish forum would be thinking of putting fish in the tank
And I would be surprised if someone tried putting fish in mineral oil filled aquarium.