Odessa bully

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

QueenBee

Reaction score
(Hopefully this is the right place to post? It's my 2nd post here)

I'm fairly new to tropical fish, have learnt a lot in the past 3 months since first tank cycled, some of it by trial and error!

I have 6 odessa in my 37L tank, I started with 4, they've been in the tank for 3 weeks. I added 2 more a few days ago. 2 males and 4 females, all around 2cm, still growing. Im aware they will need more space, I am moving them to a much bigger tank in the coming weeks, once I've purchased it and cycled it.

Yesterday, since I moved the ornaments around, one of the males has been relentlessly chasing the others. He seems to be guarding the castle ornament, rushing at the others when they come by, before swimming fast back to his castle, only to do the same thing seconds later. For hours at a time. The other fish aren't hiding from him, all of them are eating, and appear otherwise well.

His colours have deepened in the past week. He's been in the tank for 3 weeks. The other male, although marginally bigger, is still relatively pale in comparison.

I'm wondering if this is mating behaviour?

Or do I need to add a couple more because 6 is too few on the school for them?

I tested the water parameters yesterday, all were normal (zero ammonia and nitrates, very small amount of nitrates)

I'll try moving the ornaments around again in the meantime.

Ideally you want more than 6 but I would not add anything until you can provide a bigger home.

These fish have a fairly complex social structure. It could just be 2 males vying for the attention of the females, but they are most likely trying to etsablish their hierarchy or pecking order. This is likely to happen every time you add fish or re-arrange the furniture and should be harmless.