Newbie: Good hardy fish?

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

roger2003

Reaction score
HI All,

Really enjoying this forum. I am new to all this and have a planted 160L tank running for 1 week, i want to do a "with fish" cycle but obviously want to minimiae the stress on any fish. I would like to kepp Guppies, Platys and maybe Mollies in the long run. I have heard that Zebra Danios and Palatys are Hardy fish, which would you recommend to kick off the cycle and how many? Also what would be the ideal temp. for the stater fish keeping in mind the type I want to keep in the long run.

Kh 6
GH 10
PH 7.5

External Filter, heater, two lights etc.

Many Thanks.

R

I think if I'm not mistaken platys and mollies are considered pretty good fish to do a cycle with (please someone correct me if I'm wrong!). And then you won't have to rehome your cycling fish because those are the ones you want anyway, everyone wins :cool:

If you're going to do a cycle with fish, I'd suggest using zebra danios. They are pretty hardy, and messy, so they get things going faster than some others. However, I would still suggest looking into a fishless cycle, that way no fish have to suffer.

I'd probably start with some type of cheap/er fish such as White Cloud Mountain Minnows. I had started my cycling first though, then added the fishes later, and through all this time, two of my original White Clouds are still with me.

Good luck. :)

If you're new to the hobby I assume this is your first tank? If you take julie's advice and do a fishless cycle instead maybe you have a friend with some gravel you could poach from an already cycled tank? Just put some into a stocking or bit of netting and let it sit in their for a while with the filter running etc.

Thanks for the replies!