New to the whole plant thing

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

wlbadger

Reaction score
I have been keeping aquariums for 10 years followed by a short hiatus. I just started a 10 gallon with 8 tetras, a clown loach and a panda cory. I have never kept live plants but am extremely interested. My tank is equipt with an air stone and a hangon filter. I was wondering if live plants would improve the tank for my fish as well as what cost and maintainance would be. How do you plant? Are the water qualities harder to maintain? Will my fish be at higher risk for disaes and poor water quailty? Also any suggestions on plants would be good.

i'll go more into this in the morning when im not so sloshd. basicaly your fish wil do betr in live plants than not. Rose

Rose is your expert when it comes to plants. You should see her aquairums on her website. I have a 30gall tank and it is well planted and the fish love it. I would say go for a planted tank. :thumbs:

William recommended a site for plants.www.java-plants.com
I tried it and purchased a boat load on line at a reasonable cost. You don't say where you're from, but they do international shipments also. The site is worth a visit. There is also aquaticplants.ev.com. I found their plants a little costlier.
I think Duncan suggested that one.

Here's a pic of my 10g that I just tore down to put up a bigger tank (my 30g tiger barb tank.)

rose_10g_1.jpg

I'll get a good pic of my bowfront up here soon. (I hope). Rose

Can anybody be more specific? Maybe answer some of the questions? ;)

A quick answer to all of them would be plants are good for your tank, they improve water quality.

As to what plants to have, pass. The only plant I can keep is a sword.