New Saltwater tank going:o)

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

IUCowgirl

Reaction score
I am new at having a saltwater tank. I have had a small 1 gallon freshwater tank for almost 2 years now. So far in my saltwater tank I have 2 pieces of coral
3 different live plants
and 2 damsels

Somewhere on the net I found that I shouldn't add crabs, but snails instead. Is this true? I don't want the snails to take over (it's only a 10 gallon tank).

What kinds of crabs would be the best to start with?

Around Valentine's Day I'm going to invest in some clownfish and maybe an aneoma (? spelling). What type of aneoma would be best for my small tank?

I would say leave it abit before you get an anemone as they are hard to keep....If you want a few crabs get 1-2
Mithrax crabs as seen below
mithrax.jpg

^^^there about £8-10 each for a smallish one^^^

Snails will not 'take over' in a marine tank they are not like tropical snails...
Here is a turbo snail there about £10 for 6
astrea.jpg

hope this helps

cheers will :*)

Hi again,

As will said anemones are hard to keep and best kept in a well matured tank anyway,

A mixture of mithrax crabs and a variety of snails to help keep the tank clean.

Snails in the marine aquarium dont take over like a tropical tank so theres nothing to worry about there

Thanks for the info. This weekend I'm hoping to get some more damsels or maybe a couple clowns to start off with. I'll probably get 1 crab and snail and see which I like better.

I find myself traveling to a lot of different fish stores to find what I like. People in Indiana must not have many saltwater tanks. :( I'm glad that I've started this one. It gives me something to do other than homework. And now I don't spoil my horse as much. I find myself buying for the fish not my foal! :lol:

Cowgirl. STOP!!!