New Here a couple weeks ago

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

LarsB

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
OK, so I was comment on someone elses into, and realized I have not yet do so, until now.
I have been dabbling in fresh water fish for well over 50 years. Been in the hobby, then out and back in several times since I was a kid. My grandma got us started, when she lived on the river with great water from a sand point. She grew WONDERFUL fish, mostly raised livebearers, mystery snails and plants...but her African Violets were out of this world (not aquarium related sorry)
Started this latest ventures, with a betta bowl. over 5 years ago, while I had a 55 gal tank (lost in the separation of relationship) and me, the dogs and betta escaped to sanity!!! that summer the place I lived, I had a large fountain and pool, so goldfish moved in....
Moved from there 8 months later, gave away the goldfish, ,but the betta, the dogs and I moved to the new place .... Internet said bettas need more, so soon 3 bettas each in their own 10 gal.... with tank mates .. (side note, my male bettas, in the long run did better, seemed happier and overall healthier, lived MUCH longer in my 2.5 gal hex tank than they ever did, over all, in the 10 gal. Most lasted a year of less, just not used to the freedom (?) not sure)
Set up a 29 gal for a betta sorority tank, 4 ladies.... did well but all faded with in 18 months. These bettas now days are not as hardy or strong as the ones we had in the 80's! I have bred and raised bettas 3 times in my life, yet no desire to do it again.