New Beta isn’t eating, and hanging around the top constantly

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

marimomossball

Reaction score
I just recently got a new black orchid betta. He’s rather small, and my third one. I’m very aware of how their personalities differ, and how each one is unique. I am still learning as I go, but I’ve got a good handle on a lot of things. However, he isn’t really eating. I shrugged it off as the person store feeding him right I as had just bought him, so I simply waited. Two days in, and he’s still not eating. I decided that possibly the water flow in his tank is too strong for him. I lessened the water flow in the tank with a water bottle half, and pushed some of the plant decor near the sides to help as well. Since I did this, he’s been hanging around the top of the tank constantly, and he’s still actively ignoring any pellets I attempt to feed him.
Maybe I’m over reacting, but I am worried. This is his 3rd day living with me, and he’s still swimming around with no problems, acknowledges me playing with him, has let me pet him a couple of times, but still won’t eat, and is hanging around the top. I’ve tried making the pellets look appealing in, well, any form of way that you can. I’m worried that he’s not getting enough oxygen...maybe it is just be worrying too much, and he’s just excited about the top of the tank, and I thought that maybe he’s just a picky eater and I need to buy frozen food instead. Over all, he’s healthy and aware of everything.
Sorry, I am new here, and still figuring things out, and I apologize for rambling.

Betta can take a week to settle in and start eating. Keep trying to make him feel comfortable and reduce stress.
It won't hurt to try a different food in case the pellets are too big or stale or something.