New 72 Gallon Bowfront Tank

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

TonyFish

Reaction score
Dear Forum,

I need your help!

All I know is that I have the room for a big tank in my basement, but I don't know about ALL the accessories, filter, plants, etc. (I am not that experienced with Freshwater Tanks)

I value your input as to what to buy, etc. Please help!

Thanks!

well tony welcome to the forum. i am moving this to the beginner section since it is really a beginner question and this is where you introduce yourself. will get more traffic there.

first of all, did you already purchase this tank? you will have to cycle it first. cycling is essentially creating a biological filter that is used to rid the tank of harmful toxins that when overloaded can make your fish sick and even die.

second what kind of fish are you planning on putting in there? would make a nice malawi setup. :p

would suggest that you get a filter that will turn the water over atleast 2.5 times an hour. of course more is better. you should take a sample of your tap water and see what the ph is of the water first. will help to decide on the type of fish. at the same time purchase a master test kit and learn to test the water at home yourself. testing the water is very important during cycling as you want to bring up the levels of ammonia, nitrite and then nitrite and let them zero out. cycling a tank without a jumpstart can take up to 6 weeks with a fishless cycle.

need more info.

semper fi

Semper Fi, You ROCK!!!

Thanks for that Great Info!

I don't know yet as to what type of fish I want, although I do know I want some nice, medium size, "Active" fish. (I don't want anything that gonna sit at the bottom of the tank or hide behind a rock!!) Any suggestions? Nothing too expensive!

As to the "Malawi" setup, what do you mean?

I'll buy that master test kit, too!