my new fish! heh

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

TheeMon

Fishaholic
Reaction score
ok well im new to cichlids but im pretty good w/ fish so... anyways i baught 3 red labs 2 gold labs 2convicts and 3 plecos anyway umm well i would like some basic adivce, i made a thread in the new world cichlids forum but i found out labs are african, i would really like either a gallery of all cichlids or atleast a gallery of african cichlid pics :) ifnot some good single images would be nice, ive heard about blue cichlids and i want pics, are there green too? thatd be kickass heh, i thought there was more but i guess not...

oh oh the 2 yellow labs(gold whatever) are burrowing under my sponge filter, making a nest so w00t heh, oh yeah heres the link to my other thread... http://fish.orbust.net/forums/index.php?sh...=0&#entry262488

There's a pretty good African cichlid picture gallery on malawicichlidhomepage.com and cichlid-forum.com Good profiles there too will help you understand the fish's water parameter needs and their behaviors.

first what are the "common" names for them 2 middle pics in your sig? kuz i want both of them fish, 2nd why do you guys keep use'n the scientific names instead of the common names? that really confuses me heh

Because there are no common names for most African cichlids and because if there are, they are often used for multiple species creating confusion. It's not as hard to learn them as you may think. Within a week of research, I had pretty much memorized all the commonly kept Lake Malawi fish and their scientific names.

The two middle fish in my siggy are

2nd from left, the solid light blue---Pseudotropheus zebra cobalt (newly reclassified as Maylandia callainos)

3rd from left with the dark blue lateral stripes---Melanochromis cyanerhabdos Maingano.

There are no common names as far as I know for these fish.