My Marine Adventure

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Thanks Reesy, its been slow going as im a beginner lol. But i have my RR set up and running nice now with a few fish, crabs and a starfish in there. Had two clowns die on me but i didn't acclimate them properly.

I wanted a bigger tank in length so there was more to run my eyes across. I am currently building a stand for my tank before i do anything with it.

Will keep this updated as its my marine adventure from the beginning
smile.png

Any more thoughts on the tank would be much appreciated.

That's a single T5 tube. It's on the right track but it'll need a fresh reflector, a new tube that's marine light spec and some friends if you want the right light levels.

Thanks Rob, Would my best option be to do away with the lid and get a separate light fitting with a open top, Or keep the lid and replace and add extra bulbs. Its seems there is plenty of room to add the new bulbs but im not sure about connecting them up, Adding reflectors should be easy enough.

I am going to take my time with this as there is a lot to do and not enough time or money to get it all done as quickly as i would like lol.

OK, marine lighting is one of those questions. The general basic is that corals will want a lot.

After that you're into budget against requirements. T5's fit in the low cost but less effective option, although they do need fairly regular replacement. The question is, what is your long term plan for this tank?

go LED or MH. T5s are going to be expensive, especially when you have to replace 6-8 of them twice a year.

could someone link me to some lights that are acceptable through ebay maybe.

Thanks.

Here are more. I grow SPS under these, they are great. They sip electricity and make no heat. This is my 4x20K8x440nm taken with the bulb 2' off the ground with the room lights on http://i.imgur.com/EES9z.jpg http://i.imgur.com/wLNOK.jpg