Mini Reef Tank Help

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

thelaw

Fish Crazy
Reaction score
hello i have a few quick questions for stoking a 10 gallon tank with a mini reef. can i fit two Ocellaris Clownfish a Clown Goby two Neon Pineapple Tree Coral two Sexy Anemone Shrimp and one or two Porcelain Crabs. this is my first time ever wanting to do a salt water aquarium so tips will help to. like what filter to use. food to feed. and how much salt per gallon of water. and can i use unionized salt that i could just buy at food lion or something like that. thanks for the help.
biggrin.png

thelaw said:
hello i have a few quick questions for stoking a 10 gallon tank with a mini reef. can i fit two Ocellaris Clownfish a Clown Goby two Neon Pineapple Tree Coral two Sexy Anemone Shrimp and one or two Porcelain Crabs. this is my first time ever wanting to do a salt water aquarium so tips will help to. like what filter to use. food to feed. and how much salt per gallon of water. and can i use unionized salt that i could just buy at food lion or something like that. thanks for the help.
biggrin.png

I would advise against continuing down this path until you've done a lot more research.

Nano reefs are challenging and time consuming. While some clowns can fit in a 10, it's a techy subject and generally not recommended. 2 is a definite no. Not sure what a neon pineapple tree coral is but if you plan on keeping a reef, be ready for lots of testing and supplements! There are other shrimp that would be better suited for your tank!

A clown goby is a good fish for the tank. It would pair well with a pistol shrimp. 
Live rock is used for bacterial filtration in saltwater tanks.

You should consider a protein skimmer. An HOB filter may be used as a refrugium,

You will need both 10k and actinic light.

I buy premixed saltwater to avoid mixing my own. You will need specific salt for marine water, not food salt.