malaysian trumpet snails

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

clutterydrawer

where is my mind?
Reaction score
So. I want some malaysian trumpet snails cos I have sand in my tank and keep getting anaerobic pockets. not good.

my lfs has some trumpet-shaped snails in their tanks. they look pretty much like mts to me but im not a snail expert. when i asked the lady what they were, she said they were evil pests and they'd eat my plants.

how can i reliably ID them? I think theyll give me some if i ask, but i dont wanna introduce something evil that will overrun my tank and eat my lovely plants. :/

I'm a big fan of these little snails. They are one of the few snails that you can keep in a planted tank that will NOT become pests and munch on all your plants. They also have a harder shell than most, and can manage to avoid turning into dinner for snail-eating fish such as clown loaches. They are almost indestructable and very easy to keep; in addition, they serve a great function by not only cleaning up detritus but also turning the substrate (getting in the gravel or sand and aerating it, making it a good environment for plants to take root in). As their name implies, they are livebearing and can quickly reproduce, populating the entire tank.

charlie

Yes, i know that. That's why I want them. I also know that you copy+pasted that whole post from this site.

My question was, how do I tell if the snails at the lfs are malaysian trumpet snails or not?!

They seriously don't eat plants?? What's the catch? LOL. Where online can I get some of these-I know for a fact my lfs doesn't sell them-they only have plant-munching apple snails.

ok I read your link. I would really like snails my kids can hunt for but these look ideal for any tank. So any idea where i can get some? Sounds like they are super hardy. I'll post in the swap forum. :D

gale said: