Keeping Basic Plants Alive

Steve GT

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi guys

Just started a planted tank never dine live plants before. Although the plants in there now have lasted about 4 weeks and are still planted a lot of the leaves have started going brown. I put liquid fertilizer in there after every water change and none of the fish in there are eating them so not sure whats going on

As i said im really new to live plants just wondering if anyone has any quick tips on how to keep them nice. How long do lights have to be kept on in day etc?

thanks

steve

Hi Steve, welcome to planted; a great aspect of the hobby. Maybe you can give us some more information first? Such as: what are the plants you are currently keeping? What kind of substrate do you have? What is the wattage and Kelvin of your lights? How big and especially how high is your tank? Can you give us the composition or the brand name of your liquid fertilizer?

Hi mate

Thanks im really looking forward to doing something good with my tank. Il try provide as much info as i know what iv got so far id also really appreciate any changes or additions you can advise me on to keep plants alive and well just treat me as a complete Noob on this subject :)

The plants im currently keeping are mostly Amazon sword lookalikes. not sure of the exact plants but there very similar if not actual amazons. The only thing on the tank floor at the minute is Small "Pea" Gravel. The tanks a 150L and is 18" high by 40" long. The fertilizer is JBL Ferropol which the LFS sold me with the plants. The bulbs i really dont know. all i can tell you is ones a slight Blueish tint and ones a slight pink tint looking at them. Theres a few numbers on the bulbs i can give you but not sure how much help they will be. There not cheap crappy bulbs though they did cost quite a bit when i first got into fish