Im a beginner

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

Luke

Reaction score
Im thinking about starting up an aquarium for the first time. I was just wandering want kind of fish would be good for a beginner......

HiYa and welcome Luke, you stand the chance of opening up a hornets nest with that question :eek:

I'd say do loads of research first.........and then do some more lol :lol:

Get the biggest tank you can site/afford because you'll only want a bigger one after a while or more ;)

Try and find out what your local water conditions are like and try to build your selection arround that, or find some fish that you really like the look offg and work arround their requirements :)

:)

All livebearers and most tetras are ideal beginner fish in my opinion :)

hi luke =) im fairly new too. im also about to get an aquarium + accessories hehe. not too sure of the fish, but the tank im getting is a 33gallon i believe. im thinking of a few neon tetras to start off though. i have 1 betta fish swimming in a small table side tank - very nice fish, good for starting id say cause they breath surface air, they dont requre airated water due to poorly developed gills. basically all i have is a tank, light, a plant, and some stones in the bottom. as for chemicals i only add water treatment every time i do a water change. Although cause its getting colder here, i usually do water changes every 2 days to keep the temp up (could make it easier by buying a water heater... but as im looking into getting a bigger tank, im just holding off :) )

anyway welcome to the board, feel free to ask questions.. this lot r really smart when it comes to this topic =) im still learning myself :lol:

tazz

Alright, i got a question for you guys. I've heard a lot about this water cycling. I've heard that you need some good hardy fish during the cyle. WHat kind of fish are good for cycling??