I don't know if the plants should be this tall

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Bicyclemaster

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hey guys, a got a low tech 10 gallon tank that gets daily fertilizers and I also got a diy co2 injection going on. From what I see most of the plants are doing quite well but I'm not sure if I should let them get so long. I believe that the rotala rotundiflora, coin leaf, macrandra mini and ceylon should generaly stay at aroung 10-15cm (4-6 inch) but a few of mine are at 30cm (12 inch). This isn't exactly a problem but these tall ones started to coil at some point. They grow in a spiral shape and as a beginner I don't exactly know why. I added 4 photos.

Attachments

• 20211214_221038.jpg
    20211214_221038.jpg
    367.2 KB · Views: 101
  • 20211214_221047.jpg
    20211214_221047.jpg
    298.6 KB · Views: 102
  • 20211214_221117.jpg
    20211214_221117.jpg
    355.4 KB · Views: 98
  • 20211214_221050.jpg
    20211214_221050.jpg
    304.1 KB · Views: 98
Thanks fo the reply. Well, I want them to be tall but I'm not sure if it's normal for them to be this high.

very nice tank. You might consider entering the March Tank of the Month contest which will feature tanks sized at 16 gallons and smaller.

As already noted, stem plants will continue to grow if light and nutrients are adequate; the alternat5ive is dead plants. Stem plants need to be regularly pruned; cut off the growing ends and stick the cut ends in the substrate. Pull up the existing stems once you have cut off the growing tips. Or you can leave them, sometimes they will divide from the node below the cut and two stems will grow up. But whichever, the stems will grow toward the light permanently.

my cabomba stretched out and reached the top of the tank in like a week because i did not give it enough sun..

very nice tank. You might consider entering the March Tank of the Month contest which will feature tanks sized at 16 gallons and smaller.