how long usually does cycling take?

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

Sorry fishdude - this one must have slipped throught the net :/

I'm unable to tell you the answer. There is no set time as to how long a cycle will take......

A fishless (which I prefer) cycle can take from 4-6 weeks. You need to monitor your water closely and once ammonia and nitrite have spiked and then settled down to zero then your tank is consideered cycled.

I have no experience cycling with fish but maybe some other members can give you some guidlines with their experiences..... :thumbs:

:)

Hello there,
When i set my Rekord 70 Juwel tank up it
took about 6-7 weeks to cycle,as wetwetwet said
when your Ammonia & Nitrites are on zero then your tank
would have cycled.HTH
:D

the amount of time that it takes to cycle your tank depends on alot of factors. by putting the fishin to cycle you take out about 10 days from cycling. instead of creating the ammonia by feeding an empty tank, the fish create the ammonia with waste and uneaten food.

when you are cycling a tank, if you do water changes you want to make sure that you do not vaccuum the gravel. you could disturb the bacteria that is forming in the gravel bed.

semper fi

If you don't feed the bacteria (e.g. putting ammonia in your tank and alittle fishfood), fishless cycling is useless.

If you keep fish in your tank (DON'T PUT AMMONIA THEN), bacteria get food and increase but fish will suffer ammonia and then nitrite until there is enough good bacteria to oxidize NH3 -> NO3-. And when you put more fish in your tank, ammonia/nitrite spike come again because there isn't enough good bacteria to treat increasing "products" of new fishes' metabolism.