Help needed with cycling. High nitrites but good nitrate and ammonia

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

Rdoran88

Reaction score
A few weeks ago I started a nano tank with ATM colony bacteria and some tetras but unfortunately the tetras didn't make it due to a case of white spot. The aquarium has since been fully water changed after 2 weeks at 30 degrees and ich treatment. The tank is now back down fo 26 degrees and my test kit has shown the following readings

ammonia = just over 0 but under 0.25 the colour is mainly yellow (api test kit)

nitrite = between 2 & 5ppm as they colour is so close to both I'm saying 5ppm to be safe

nitrate = between 10/20 ppm

do I wait and let the nitrites come down in a cycling process or would a large water change assist? I am new to this and have read up a lot of varying things so wanted to ask the community.

Are there any fish left in the tank? If yes, you need to do water changes as often as necessary to keep ammonia and nitrite at zero.

But if there are no fish left, you would be better continuing by doing a fishless cycle. As you have nitrite, the tank is partially cycled so it won't take much longer.
I would add some ammonia and follow this method - but as the cycle is already well under way, test daily rather than every 3 days at the beginning.

Are there any fish left in the tank? If yes, you need to do water changes as often as necessary to keep ammonia and nitrite at zero.

But if there are no fish left, you would be better continuing by doing a fishless cycle. As you have nitrite, the tank is partially cycled so it won't take much longer.
I would add some ammonia and follow this method - but as the cycle is already well under way, test daily rather than every 3 days at the beginning.
Hi and thank you for your quick reply. No there are no fish in the tank and that's been the case now for around 16 days.