Help! Need To Cycle A New Tank Quickly.

The April FOTM Contest Poll is open!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to vote! 🏆

StarryGirl

Mostly New Member
Reaction score
Hi. I am a complete newbie as i haven't owned fish since i was really little and won a goldfish at the fair that then went in a bowl of water after we left it to get to room temp for a few hours.
I recently agreed to my brother getting my daughter some fish for her birthday. I went out, bought a little tank (12l i think), it came with an air filter and i got some tap safe water conditioner. I told him he could he could wait a little then get her maybe 6 white cloud minnow (He told me he had been advised that these are quite hardy so good starter fish).
He went out got her about 15 off his friend, so they are seriously overcrowded and looking like they are not doing so well. I have bought a bigger tank (28l), bought a used filter as i was advised it would contain some good bacteria. I have a water pump.
Its all set up now but the fish prob wont survive 6-8 weeks in the tiny tank they are in. Is there any way to speed up the nitrogen cycle in the new tank? I have heard mixed reviews on bacteria treatments. Would it help to move old gravel/plastic plants/ air pump?
Any advice appreciated for this panicy mum not wanting to start fishy funerals x

welcomeani.gif

You sure have gone into the deep end haven't you!
Heh, not to panic, you have done absolutely the right move in asking for advice from this forum, we will try to give you the best advice possible.
Do not really on your Local Fish Store (LFS) to give you good advice as they are not the best source for information ironically! 

Ok, right, first of all, here is some information regarding White Cloud Mountain Minnows (WCMM)

http://www.seriouslyfish.com/species/tanichthys-albonubes/

WCMM differs from tropical fish in that they are more temperate fish rather than tropical, meaning they do better in cooler waters than tropicals.