Help Im New to fishkeeping

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

FishDude15423123

Reaction score
Hi My first question shall be is my 10 gallon tank overstocked i have 2 dwarf gouramis 1 kuhli loach a swordtail a white tetra and a emerald green cory cat? I believe so but I want to make sure :)

To be honest, it's not so much overstocked as poorly stocked. Let me explain.

Two dwarf gouramis are OK provided they are male and female or two females. Two males, being territorial, will fight.

Kuhli loaches, tetras and cories are shoaling fish which need to be in a group of at least 6 of the same species. These fish are programmed by their DNA to expect a group and they get stressed if there aren't enough of them. But the tank is not big enough for a shoal of even one species.

The swordtail is too big for this tank, I'm afraid. And it is also incompatible with all the other fish as swordtails are hard water fish while all the others are soft water fish.
Do you know how hard your water is? Your water provider's website may give the hardness, or you can take some tap water to a fish store and ask them to test the GH (that's general hardness). With either of these you need a number rather than some vague word, and also the unit of measurement as there are several.

I'm sorry to be so negative in your first post, but we all have the best interest of the fish at heart.
The only realistic solutions are to rehome some of the fish (the shoaling ones), or buy a bigger tank and get more of the shoaling fish if you have soft water. If your water is hard, you have the hard choice of keeping small hard water fish or again buying a bigger tank.

To be honest, it's not so much overstocked as poorly stocked. Let me explain.

Two dwarf gouramis are OK provided they are male and female or two females. Two males, being territorial, will fight.