Help! Can't get NitrAtes down....

FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 POTM Poll is Open! 🦎 Click here to Vote! 🐰

adrianne8288

Reaction score
Hello, I have had a terrible couple of months with my tank. The tank is almost one year old... it was fully cycled (I am a newbie). I got a little behind on the water changes and the PH soared and killed 3 of my 5 fish in the span of 2 weeks. I got the PH into the normal range using a Ph Adjuster and now something is wrong with the Nitrates. It is registering 50ppm. I have done 2 -10 gallon water changes each week for the last 3 weeks and the Nitrates are not changing at all. My local Fish Store suggested a product called de-nitrate which is a gravel that you put in your filters (I used the entire 1 liter can on both of my filter systems like the directions called for) and still no change.

Info:
75 gal tank w/rock
2 filters - Rena and an Eheim
1 Protein Skimmer

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

clean out your filters, they tend to produce a lot of nitrate after a while
do much bigger water changes. 25% would be good, perhaps twice a week until the nitrates improve.
do you have any aragonite substrate? it will help buffer the pH
is your test kit old? you can get false readings, try buying a new one.
what is your bioload like (what fish do you have and how big are they?)

Something that I noticed one week when doing my checks was that the Nitrates were very high 50 - 60ppm, I always add AmQuel+ to my water, be it the freshwater top ups and to saltwater changes but I couldn't get the Nitrates down below 40ppm regardless of what I did - my leather toadstall had gone into hiding and things were looking dull...

Then I tested the Nitrates in my supply (tap water, both before and after treatment, before treatment Nitrates were nearly 80ppm and after they had dropped to about 50ppm - so my problems were coming from the tap water!