Help a beginner...?

April FOTM Photo Contest Starts Now!
FishForums.net Fish of the Month
🏆 Click to enter! 🏆

GrouchtheOscar

Reaction score
Hi all I'm new to this forum AND fishkeeping. I will simply post my current situation and equipment, and will throw myself on the mercy of the court! I have a 55-gallon tank with an Aqua-Tech 30-60 power filter, under-gravel filter w/ power-head, about an inch and a half of gravel, and no live plants. I am currently running the power head in reverse mode, as I have been told this is preferable to normal flow. I recently read two articles entitled "The under gravel filter controversy" and "Under-gravel controversy Revisited", which basically said these are unnecessary, and possibly counter-productive to biological filtration as long as there is adequate water flow and aeration. Since I'm new to this hobby, I was wondering what some of you sages had to say on the subject. As I mentioned before, I am running a UGF as well as a power filter, so as long as I make the recommended water changes and vacuum the gravel, I should be ok, right? As far as the fish I have three 2-inch bala sharks, a three-inch oscar, a male betta, a three-inch black-fin shark, and a gold mystery snail. They seem to be ok, but what do you think? The water is a little cloudy, and smells a bit musty, though I have been making the water changes about 25% weekly. OK let me have it, and don't pull any punches! :*)

The underground filter is no problem.
I'm not, per se, an expert, but I've been at it for two years.

Have you cycled it yet? This may be the problem with the musty water. If not, then it might be a little more sticky.