What's new

Guppy looks like is "dragging" his (not large) tail.

Pet of the Month Starts Now!
FishForums.net Pet of the Month
🐶 Click here to enter! 🐰

joelfernandes

Fish Fanatic
Reaction score
Hi.

Recently my male guppy started to swim oddly, like his tail is heavy, staying and sometimes swimming in a more vertical position. I'm very new to the hobby, and after losing so many fish when I started, I panicked, placed him in a small hospital tank, and started treating it with API General Cure 2 days ago (I gave the second dose today).

He can swim straight too, but most of the time, he looks like this:
IMG_9940.jpeg

Am I overthinking this? He eats well and still swims around instead of staying still and hiding.

Water parameters are normal.

Could be a swim bladder issue... I will let someone with more experience reply but definitely stop the general cure medication until we know exactly what the issue is. A lot of times meds can make it worse

Please stop the meds until you get further input. Chemical meds should only be a last resort with the issue well defined and the med being specific for the issue. Applying meds without knowing the problem can often cause more harm than good.

It has been over 50 years since I've had any guppies but, for some reason I can't really explain, I suspect an internal parasite.

Hopefully, our resident guppy experts will check in. But black in other livebearers has its cost. When I see a fish with that much black, I would look to see if it's reflective. If it is, good. If it is dull and doesn't reflect back, it can be Melanoma - skin cancer. It's not uncommon in many livebearers, but I haven't kept fancy guppies in decades. If you fish had those colours in the swordtail group, I'd be checking closely.

Calling all guppy breeders here!